Skip to main content

Amish: Welcome to Amish research!

3rd grade research

WebPath Express

WebPath Express is kid-friendly search engine. It can also be accessed from the left menu of the Destiny catalog. (Need to enter a seaarch term first). Most of the sites you find will show a reading level of 6th grade or higher, but you might be able to find very useful information on the sites listed. Use only the links shown on page 1.

Amish Links

Note: Many of these sites are commercial sites with advertising. Do not click on any commercials or advertisements. If you cannot tell the difference between research facts and advertisements, ask a teacher or your parents.

The following Internet links have been pre-selected for your research. These websites have been chosen for 3rd grade researchers. They include information that is accurate and educational. Not all Internet sites do that. Wikiepedia may not be used as a source.

 

   

This website has information on almost all the topics assigned for research.

 This site is sponsored by an expert on the Amish society. From the home page, you will need to search the various pages to find exactly what you need. Not all of the information is pertinent to your topics. Here are some specific links: for weddings and religions beliefs and others

This is a commercial site sponsored by the Lancaster County Visitor's Bureau. Click on the links on the home page to access your research topic. Do not click on the advertisements on the side of the page.

 

This page from About.com has links to additional research topics. Complete this sentence: Do not click on......

Use only the links listed here and avoid the advertising in the middle of the articles: Weddings Education Schools Recreation
more Recreation Games Difference between Amish and Mennonite Transportation Buggy styles Brake Lights Clothing Barn Raising

This site is sponsored by The Pennsylvania Dutch Convention & Visitor's Bureau. It is also a commercial site. Do not click on the advertisements.

Databases

The Fiat Library subscribes to databases. Databases provide accurate, educational information for third grade students. (The Internet doesn't always do that)

To access the databases, you will need a user name and password. This information is so super secret that it cannot be posted here. If you do not remember the super secret user name and password, please e-mail Mrs. Zajko or ask your teacher for this information.


 The database encyclopedias do not provide the detailed information you need for your research but they may provide some general background information.
Here are the databases recommended for 3rd grade:

Encyclopedia Britannica

Compton's (Encyclopedia Britannica) - Select the Elementary encyclopedia. Under "additional content" are "Web's Best Sites" links.

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

 Grolier includes two encyclopedias: Grolier Online (more detail) and New Book of Knowledge. Grolier will also give you approved Internet websites. Click on the Websites tab at the top of the results page. Note: If Grolier does not open when using the user name password, it will open on the second try. Why? I don't know.

World Book

After logging in to World Book Advanced, you can select from three different encyclopedias based on reading level: World Book Kids, World Book Discoverer, or World Book Student. The links to these encyclopedias can be found at the bottom of the World Book Advanced homepage. The World Book Student also has Internet links.

Image Quest

Use this database for copy-right friendly images. Images from the databases may also be used.

Destiny Catalog

Search Destiny for fiction and non-fiction books about the Amish.

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search