LibGuides: Colonial Fair: Middle Colonies

The Middle Colonies

Citation info: If you want to manually enter the citation, see the directions on the Database page for the information and format. There is no source citation sheet.

To copy and paste: Select "Website". When data entry screen opens click on: Quick Cite - copy and paste a citation. Copy the citation below and paste.

"Thirteen Colonies: the Middle Colonies." You Tube. Mr. Zoller's Video Podcasts. Web. ENTER DATE OF ACCESS at data entry. <http://www.youtube.com>

The Quakers, the Dutch and the Ladies

Information on the Middle Colonies appears in the beginning, followed by the Southern colonies and then New England. Information on women appears around 9:00.

Citation info: If you want to manually enter the citation, see the directions on the Database page for the information and format. There is no source citation sheet.

To copy and paste: Select "Website". When data entry screen opens click on: Quick Cite - copy and paste a citation. Copy the citation below and paste.

"The Quakers, the Dutch and the Ladies." You Tube. Crash Course. Web. ENTER DATE OF ACCESS at data entry. <http://www.youtube.com>

Middle Colonies

The Middle Colonies
Brief discussion of Pennsylvania and New York colonies. See also: Schools, Society and Culture.

For basic historical information on the establishement of individual colonies, see the databases and UXL's ebook, Colonial America. The links below also have information but your particular colony may not be discussed in enough detail.

Religious Plurarism in the Middle Colonies
This teacher page (yes, you can read it too!) examines why the middle colonies had more religious diversity than the New England and Southern colonies.
The Middle Colonies
Use the pulldown menu at the top of the page (4. The Middle Colonies) for a preview of the topics of this chapter.
New England and the Middle Colonies
Scroll past the pages on New England to the brief section on the Middle Colonies. This textbook PDF link discusses the economy of the Middle Colonies.
The Dutch in America - 1609-1664
The home page of this site provides background information. Be sure to click on the New Netherlands link for more specific information on Manhattan and the Patroon System.
Dutch Colonies
This page explains conflicts that arose as the Dutch settled in the Hudson Valley.
The Middle Colonies (video)
Video provides detailed information on New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Delaware. Look at the text also as the text provides additional information.
A Brief Guide to the Colonies
Select your colony from the list.
Religion in Colonial America
Examines the patterns of religion in colonial culture.
Delaware History
Brief description of the various groups of settlers in the First State.
Delaware State Archives
Use the Next Page button at the top to page through the various time periods in Delaware's colonial history.
Pennyslvania History Overview
This link from the state archives divides Pennsylvania history into time periods: you will need the first two. See also the menu on the left side and select Pennsylvania History for further information on people, places and events. Remember to select only those within the colonial era.