Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From Jesus to Christ
An on-line exhibit showing controversial evidence challenging assumptions about the life of Jesus and the rise of Christianity.
Religion and Ethics
BBC site with information on all religions, including beliefs, worship and history. A good starting point.
General gateway site with useful information but may be difficult to find due to advertising. Interesting comparison charts of various Christian religions.
Greek Archdiocese of Philadelphia
Describes Orthodox ritual and doctrine. The Orthodox Catholic Church is one of three major divisions of Christianity.
Orthodox Church in America
Introduction to various denominations of the Orthodox Church, including the Churches of Alexandria, Antioch, Constantinople, Jerusalem, Russia, Georgia, and Greece
When searching Destiny: See also: Search Destiny's Web Path Express option. Search "Islam" or "Muslim".
Provides an explanation of the Muslim faith. Links within site provide additional information. Official site of the Saudi Embassy. Use the links on the left for additional information.
BBC site discussing beliefs and practices.
See also: Search Destiny's Web Path Express option. Search "Judaism" will provide several excellent sites
Call Number: FIC HAU
When sixteen-year-old Jason Bock and his friends create their own religion to worship the town's water tower, what started out as a joke begins to take on a power of its own.
Confessions of a Closet Catholic
Call Number: FIC LIT
To be more like her best friend, eleven-year-old Justine decides to give up Judaism to become Catholic, but after her beloved, religious grandmother dies, she realizes that she needs to seek her own way of being Jewish.
To find non-fiction sources on specific religions, use those as subject search terms or browse the 200's.
Click to enter and search.
Reference - available as an e-book and print Reference
Reference - print
The Britannica Guide to Theories and Ideas That Changed the Modern World
Call Number: REF 901 BRI
Discusses the people, movements, and events behind the theories and ideas that changed the modern world, including religion.
Beliefs That Changed the World
Call Number: 200 BOW
For books on specific religions, search Destiny.
Call Number: 204 HYD
Presents an overview of spirituality and world religions for teenagers, including beliefs, codes of conduct, rituals, ceremonies, and doctrines
One World, Many Religions
Call Number: 291 OSB
An illustrated introduction to comparative religion, discussing Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, Confucianism, and Taoism
Gale UXL Student Resource Center Jr
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
Also includes The New Book of Popular Science.
American Baptist Churches USA
Provides information about the church's doctrines and spiritual and educational projects. See also: Southern Baptist further down this list
Assemblies of God
Pentecostal denomination with roots in the religious revival movement of the 19th century.
Detailed history of the church and an explanation of its beliefs.
Church of Latter Day Saints (LDS)
Also known as the Mormon Church.
Church of the Nazarene
Organized in the early 20th century, site includes information about history, beliefs, ministries and missions.
The Conservative Baptist Association of America
Episcopal Church USA
Contains information about the Episcopalian beliefs within the Anglican Church. Visitor's Center link provides questions and answers about fundamental beliefs of Episcopalian doctrine.
Evangelical Luthern Church in America
This denomination began in 1988 with the merger several Lutheran branches. Describes the church and its beliefs and activities at home and abroad.
Friends United Meedting
The worldwide association of Friends (Quakers). Includes beliefs, ministries and international missions. See the Quaker Life archive for insight into the church's beliefs.
Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod
Formed from 15 congregations in the mid-19th century known as the German Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Missouri, Ohio and Other States. Introduction to history, beliefs, rituals, ministry programs and worldwide mission outreach.
Methodist (United Methodist Church)
Second largest Protestant denomination in America formed in 1968 through the merger of two denominations. Detailed information about the church's ministries and work toward church unity.
Presbyterian Church in America
Formed in the early 1970's after splitting with the larger Presbyterian Church over differences in interpretation of scripture. In addition to discussion of beliefs, also includes vision for the future.
Presbyterian Church USA
One of the largest Protestant denominations in the United States that traces its roots back to the Protestant Reformation. Incorporates the beliefs of John Calvin.
Southern Baptist Convention
Largest branch of the Baptist Church in America and largest Protestant denomination in the country. Introduction to denominational beliefs and church networks.
Unitarian Universalist Association
Formed in 1961 with the merger of several churches.
United Church of Christ
Formed in 1957 by the merger of Evangelical and Reformed Churches with Congregational Christian Churches. Site contains an extensive history of the church and its predecessor churches and an examination of the UCC's beliefs.
United Pentacostal Church International
Established in 1945 with the merger of two Pentecostal churches. Site discusses doctrine
This page explains beliefs. Click on the official web site link in the upper left corner to access the home page.
Scientology has been termed a cult rather than a religion.