Skip to Main Content

STEM grade 5: STEM

Electricity is...

Atoms

Molecularium Nanospace
You will need to wait for this site to load. Begin with the atom graphic in the middle of the hall.
The Atoms Family
Various links discuss atoms and matter, electricity and electrical safety.
All About Atoms
Click on electrons.
Electrons and Charges
Provides an overview on electricity, as well as information on Faraday, positive and negative charges, conductors and diagrams.
Flow of Electrons
This video demonstrates how electrons are move through conductors.

Electrical circuits, Conductors and Insulators

Circuit World
You can build and test circuits using this interactive.
Blobz Guide to Electric Circuits
You can work with a friend to learn how circuits work or you can try it on your own.
Current Electricity & Electric Circuits
Scholastic StudyJams explains currents and circuits and provides a self-test.
The Energy Story
Read chapters 2 through 5 for information on electricity and circuits.
Learning Circuits
This site is a step-by-step activity on creating and diagramming circuits. It also includes information on insulators and conductors.
Electric Circuits
Use interactives and challenges to learn about basic, series and parallel circuits. Information on resistance and volts is included. Note: this is a British site. Their word for "flashlight" is not the same as ours.
Changing Circuits
Create and diagram circuits and test your knowledge.
Explanation of Conductors and Insulators
Brief explanation of how conductors and insulators work.
Resistors in Series and Parallel
See also the links at the bottom of the page for Resistors, Capacitors and Conductors,
Electrical Grounding
Insulate!

Volts, Amps and Watts

How Stuff Works
Explains the three basic units in electricity.
Ammeter
What is it and how does it work? The video is not part of the article.
How to Use an Ammeter
Brief explanation of the 5 steps on how to use an ammeter.
Difference Between...
What's the difference between amps and watts? Read this link to find out.

Timelines

Electricity Timeline
When was static electricity "discovered"? Or volts? Or amps?

MaKey MaKey - An Invention Kit for Everybody

Inside an Atom

Electricity

Voltage, Current and Resistance

Holiday Lights - Series or Parallel?

Series and Parallel Circuits

Quizlet

Electricity quizlet

Database Search Terms

Use any of the following terms when searching the databases:

ammeter
amps
atoms
circuits, electrical
conductor (electrical - not musical)
current, electrical
Michael Faraday
Joseph Henry
insulators (electrical, not thermal)
voltage
watts

Brain Pop

Encyclopedia Britannica

Gale UXL Student Resource Center Jr

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

Also includes The New Book of Popular Science.

Marshall Cavendish Science Reference Center

World Book

Who Was....?

Joseph Henry

Check the database sources above for biograhical information on Henry and Faraday.

Michael Faraday

Learn More!!

AC / DC - What's the Difference?
An interactive diagram shows the difference between these two currents.
What is Static Electricity?
Also discusses atoms and electrons.

Play!

PacMan